4th of July in Tallinn

The morning of America’s Independence Day, I took a four hour bus ride to Tallinn along with 6 other Project GO students. Tallinn and Narva are pretty much different worlds. While Narva exhibits the remnants of Soviet-style architecture and has a dominant Russian culture, Tallinn reminded me of some of the cities I have visited in Western Europe, such as Munich. We didn’t have time to see much, but I did get to go inside some interesting shops and see the vendors in the town square. In the afternoon, our group attended a 4th of July cookout hosted by the US Marines stationed at the embassy. The party was situated in a nice suburban neighborhood, and being there and hearing everyone speak English made me feel like I was back at home. In the early evening, we headed back to the bus station and traveled back to Narva. It was a quick trip, but I’m glad that I spent my 4th of July in Tallinn and look forward to going back this Friday!11694863_1005330462851875_9214813267197049949_n

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

