A Change in Attitudes Towards Americans

Because I grew up oversees, I have the unique ability to compare my experiences studying abroad in Estonia, to my time living in Russia. Narva is remarkably similar in culture and structure to the Russia I remember growing up. However I have noticed one startling change that has happened since I moved back to the United States only six years ago. The attitude towards Americans by Russians has changed. Back when I lived in Ekaterinburg the problems between the US and Russia were clearly present between governments, but there was very little animosity between regular people. This has changed, as the Russian media has portrayed the American people as the enemy. The effect is that in a Russian-speaking town, such as Narva, the people want nothing to do with us. For me this is extremely sad as I spent a large portion of my life inside Russia, yet hopefully things will eventually change for the better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

