This is NOT a Vacation (But I’m Loving Every Second)

We have been sent here by the Department of Defense in order to do one thing and one thing only: learn Russian. Every class, every piece of homework, every excursion, and every second of free time is designed to help us achieve this goal. We are supposed to learn Russian day in and day out for eight weeks.

Who would have thought doing the same thing over and over again for two months would be so incredibly fun?

This has been one of the most educational experiences of my life, not only regards to the rate at which I’m learning the language, but also because I’ve gotten the opportunity to become immersed in the culture of a part of the world I never could have imagined being. There has never been a dull moment in the past six weeks, and I know the final two will be no different.

One of my favorite things about learning Russian abroad is the fact that I get to talk to locals. I may not have the widest vocabulary, but I can still comprehend and communicate ideas effectively. That’s actually one of my favorite parts about language–the fact that you can manipulate a few words in practically infinite different ways and convey ideas to other people. It’s a rush to be able to understand what someone is saying and an even bigger rush to be understood.

The fact that I get the opportunity to learn this fascinating language with amazing people in an incredible country is mind boggling. I am so grateful for everything that we’ve received and look forward to everything that is to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

